Water surfing? Fun. Waterboarding? Not so fun, actually.

For over a week now, I’ve been working on a post about an ad making fun of McCain for being, well, old. And computer illiterate.
I was going to talk about how I found something saying Bill Clinton sent TWO emails during his entire presidency, but I hadn’t yet validated that information, and frankly, work and work and work and work (because I have 4 jobs) was getting in the way of finishing the post.
So, Bill wrote 2 emails: take it or leave it. It may be true, it may not be. The point was that I’m really not worried about whether or not McCain can type. My dad is a horrible typist (sorry, Dad, but it’s true), but that’s okay, because he’s brilliant. I may be biased, but I think you get my point.

Anyway, I found something more exciting and controversial to write about.
Torture!
Yay!

I wrote a paper in my first freshman semester of college about torture – specifically the recently implemented Military Commissions Act, which I loathe. A lot. Incidentally, it was during the drafting and re-drafting and re-re-drafting of this essay that I first found out who John McCain was, and I liked him a lot. Anyway, it was an awful paper, although at the time both my professor and I thought it was great (considering I was a little baby freshman).
Since writing that paper, my stance on torture has not changed one iota, and although I accept that one day my beliefs may yet evolve one more, for now, I am against torture. All torture. Even torture that some people may not consider torture.
Like waterboarding.

Why bring this up now?

The Washington Post featured an article recently, as in today, which exposed some secret memos from the White House in which torture (waterboarding) was explicitly endorsed. Not just implicitly – explicitly!
Now, we all know that the press isn’t always accurate, but right now the White House has a “no comment” stance, which to me seems like the Post is on the right track. And according to the Post, intelligence officials worried about a backlash if details of the “interrogation program” became explicit.
The White House was sneaky! CIA officials wanted a paper trail of these endorsed tactics, fearing that if a backlash did eventually occur, the President and his cronies could distance themselves from the mess. Yet CIA Director George Tenet repeatedly requested documents of written approval, starting in June 2003 during a meeting with some members of the National Security Council. Tenet did receive a brief memo, but requested another written approval a year later, after the Abu Ghraib scandal (what have we learned? Tenet is one smart guy).

So now, some administration officials have confirmed the existence of the memos, but are keeping mum about the details.
Brilliant. Just brilliant.

I’m not going to rant about this subject. I have already made my feelings clear, and people are free to do their own research on the matter. However, I think that the CIA Director worrying about getting blamed & the White House distancing itself from blame says a lot.

Published in: on October 15, 2008 at 1:23 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jpeaslee.wordpress.com/2008/10/15/waterboarding-cia-whitehous/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

