People do stupid things…

…People have always done stupid things, and people will continue to do stupid things, because people…ARE STUPID.
A viewer of some news show I used to watch (I really wish I could remember the show, because I know I had a huge crush on the guy who hosted it) sent in those words of wisdom.

Today I was reminded of that ever-so-inspirational quote when I came across this gem of a news story.

A man SECRETLY named his child “Sarah McCain Palin.” Instead of Ava Grace, the name his wife had previously chosen.
TRUE STORY.
He’ll be sleeping on the couch for some time, I’m sure. The shock hasn’t even fully set in with his wife, yet.
Can you change a baby’s name really easily? Particularly if it’s ridiculous? I hope so. I mean, maybe not Ava Grace, maybe something simple…even Sarah would work! A compromise of sorts.

When asked why he did something sooooo ridiculously stupid, the man replied that he wanted “to get the word out” about the McCain/Palin campaign. Because, you know, the presidential election that’s coming up? Yeah, apparently nobody knows about it. All that news coverage and all these blog posts? Getting nowhere, evidently.

Here’s the best part: “‘I took one for the cause,’ he said. ‘I can’t give a lot of financial support for the (McCain/Palin) campaign. I do have a sign up in my yard, but I can do very little.'”
Do you think he’s going to put his daughter in the yard with a nametag for all the world to see?

Published in: on October 20, 2008 at 10:14 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jpeaslee.wordpress.com/2008/10/20/people-do-stupid-things/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

